The Self-Portrait Prize 2011

9 May - 9 November 2011

In 2011 judges, including William Feaver, Bill Packer and Sister Wendy Beckett selected the work of Celia Paul to become the first winner of the Ruth Borchard Self-Portrait Prize.


Commenting on her work Paul wrote “Women are so often defined by labels: wife, daughter, sister, mistress, Muse. When looking in a mirror women are questioning who they are and what place they have in the world”. It demonstrates the powerful capacity of self-portraiture as a platform for self-expression.


Alongside Celia Paul winning the £10,000 Ruth Borchard Prize a selection of eight works, including Greg Tricker, Brita Granstrom, Mary Mabbutt, Cherry Pickles, Fred Crayk, Laura Gressani, Susan Light and Lindsay Simons were acquired for the Next Generation Collection.